Premier League Golden Boot, Golden Glove and Playmaker of the Year decided

Manchester City are Premier League champions once again, Tottenham Hotspur have a place in next season’s Champions League and Leeds United stayed up at the expense of Burnley.

But the final weekend of the Premier League season also saw players fight it out for a number of individual awards.

The Golden Boot, Golden Glove and Playmaker of the Season accolades were all up for grabs.

here, The Athletic breaks down how the battles were decided.

Golden Boot

Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min share the Golden Boot after finishing the 2021-22 season on 23 goals each.

Salah scored one against Wolves on the season’s final day, while Son managed two at bottom-placed Norwich City.

Salah had appeared favorite, exploding out of the blocks this season with 10 goals in the first nine games of Liverpool’s campaign.

He ended something of a slump since returning from Africa Cup of Nations duty with Egypt, however, scoring seven goals in 15 appearances since February.

That run included just three in his last nine — with two of those coming in the 4-0 win over Manchester United last month.

Son has been in scintillating form in the last few months, scoring 14 goals in his last 14 matches.

The South Korea international has already surpassed his best scoring season for Spurs, which had been the 17 strikes he registered in 2020-21.

Harry Kane was the holder of the award, while Salah is already a two-time winner from the 2017-18 and 2018-19 seasons.

Unlike the World Cup and other tournaments, there is no secondary statistic to separate players if they end the season level — so Salah and Son share the award.

Cristiano Ronaldo sits on 18 goals in third.

Golden Glove

All eyes were on the City and Liverpool games due to their title battle, but their goalkeepers were also in a personal fight for the Golden Glove.

Brazilian duo Alisson and Ederson were locked at 20 clean sheets each headed into the final round of matches, while Spurs’ Hugo Lloris was third.

In the event, nothing changed, with both Brazilian goalkeepers conceding — Ederson let two goals in against Aston Villa, while Wolves squeezed one past Alisson.

Both goalkeepers have missed matches for their club sides during the campaign, with Alisson absent for Liverpool’s 5-0 win over Watford in October and the 2-2 draw with Chelsea in January.

Ederson, meanwhile, missed one game for City — October’s 2-0 win against Burnley.

While Liverpool and Alisson face Wolves, City and Ederson will host Aston Villa.

Ederson won the award in the last two seasons, with Alisson pipping him in the campaign before that.

Playmaker of the Season

This award was only introduced by the Premier League in the 2017-18 season, and goes to the player with the most assists.

Salah led all players for this award heading into the final games, with his 13 assists one better than his Liverpool team-mate Trent Alexander-Arnold.

Neither player added an assist on Sunday, with Thiago Alcantara, Joel Matip, and Roberto Firmino the providers.

Alexander-Arnold’s achievement is perhaps the more remarkable, given he operates as a right-back, but his crossing abilities are famed and the 23-year-old does have the advantage of often taking corners and free-kicks for Liverpool.

Chelsea’s Mason Mount, West Ham United’s Jarrod Bowen, Liverpool’s Andy Robertson, and Leicester City’s Harvey Barnes all share third place, with 10 assists each.

(Photos: Getty Images)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.